Design Wall Monday

Most of my weekend was spent assembling blocks and watching football.  The blocks are all scrappy and from the 3 1/2 inch strip bin.  This is not my normal size as I really like 2 1/2 inch strips…and now I remember why.  If the fabric is ugly  not a favorite it needs to be cut smaller.  3 1/2 is a pretty big chunk.   And my bin of 3 1/2 strips is pretty picked over…..there are a lot of uglies  unfavorable pieces in this bin!

001 (1)

 

I’m working on Patchwork Park from

006

 

I really like making shaded 4 patch blocks.  Judy’s scrap block this month got me started and this pattern seemed to be the best use of my scraps using that shaded 4 patch.  Here’s what I’ve gotten up on the wall so far.

002 (1)

 

I’m going bigger than the 60 inches in Gayle’s book.  My plan is to use up most of this bin and end up about 90 inches.  So far it is going together pretty quickly….as long as I don’t study the fabric or be too choosy.

Let’s go to Patchwork Times and see what’s going up on other design walls.

Posted in design wall
3 comments on “Design Wall Monday
  1. Tina in NJ says:

    I like how your quilt is coming together. Keep at it!

  2. Teri says:

    I know what you mean. I recently finished a top with those types of fabric. I put an interesting sashing with it, then I liked it. I am no longer keeping that size bin. I found I wasn’t using them (probably because they were those types of fabric). I think it will look great when it is all together. I call those my 10 foot quilts- they look better from 10 feet away.

  3. Rachel says:

    I like that pattern. It almost has a woven element to it.

Comments are closed.

Recent Posts
Archives
January 2014
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031