Design Wall Monday

I’ve been playing with a scrap block.  Judy at Patchwork Times is hosting a Scrap Challenge and I’ve been playing with the block.  Turns out I already had a small collection of parts leftover from a couple of other projects.  This block is a 9 patch that will finish at 9 inches…..if I stitch it together.  I just keep switching out the patches.  This one has parts leftover from Easy Street the Bonnie Hunter mystery finished in 2013.

 trail mix 006

Then I add and subtracted and got this…..jl..scrap 006

I turned the corner block, too.  Next, some more color added.jl..scrap 002

Whoa…that’s a lotta orange.jl..scrap 009

Bright but subdued, these are leftover from a Project Linus quilt.  jl..scrap 007

Maybe a different center….orange??jl..scrap 001

Those orange bricks just really pop…too much?  Back to the drawing board…..

jl..scrap 013

 

To see what is going on at Patchwork Times click here.

Posted in design wall, Easy Street, Quilts
4 comments on “Design Wall Monday
  1. Gayle Bong says:

    Too much orange??? Really?? I think it’s perfect, except I’d rotate that one corner unit.

    • cheryliowa says:

      Gayle…I was just looking at your book “S is for Scraps”. Great resource, I especially enjoyed reviewing the Being Productive section. Mostly stuff I know, but reading through it was good reinforcement. Looking at Patchwork Park because I really like making corner block for Album blocks. Much as I need not to start more til I finish I also need to use up my overflowing scrap bins. Thanks for your comment.

  2. Nann says:

    I printed out the block photo but have yet to make one….I like your interpretations!

  3. Love these! What fun. 🙂

Comments are closed.

Recent Posts
Archives
January 2014
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031