Trail Mix

I have a few blocks finished so up on the empty design wall they go.  This is a long-term project so I know I can’t leave them up…I just wanted an idea of how my colors and scraps are looking.  The trail can turn any which way.  This should be a fun project.  The blocks are fun to make, so simple and some a little more involved but everything is straight, no HSTs or flying geese.trail mix 002

There are a group of quilters on the Yahoo Stashbuster Group doing this pattern, some as leader ender, and a few just building the necessary blocks. A lot of conversation on color mix and fabric selection.  I’ve dug out fat quarters and some pre-cuts to get a good variety of color.  I plan on leader ender now that I have a few blocks started.  It should be easy to keep the working box near my machine while piecing another project.

trail mix 004

The Trail Mix pattern can be found in American  Patchwork and Quilting (April 2004)or  Scrap-Lovers’ Quilts (Leisure Arts #4147) (Better Homes & Gardens Creative Quilting Collection).   There are a couple of wonderful scrappy quilts I’m thinking I should make next.

Posted in Quilts
2 comments on “Trail Mix
  1. Linda L says:

    I am waiting for my book. Really excited to start.

  2. Thanks for showing this, Cheryl. I’m tempted to join the fun, as I really love the chaining effect. I think instead I’ll do a multi-size block project that will include stars and other angled blocks. If I use a 12″ block as the basis, I can use 3″, 4″ 6″, 8″, 9″ units in them. No idea what it will look like, but I guess that’s part of the adventure!

    I’ll look forward to your posts on this as you make progress.

Comments are closed.

Recent Posts
Archives
January 2014
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031