My Spools Project

Last year when Bonnie Hunter issued the Spools Leader-ender project I decided to play along……sort of. I had a basketful of Spools going already. Of course mine were twice the size but still Spools and a leader-ender project so it was just the nudge I needed to get moving on them again.

I’m not certain when I threw in the towel  (again), but when she recently suggested a progress report I knew just where to look for this bag of half-finished spools!

IMG_0436

There are about 190 6 inch (finished) blocks.  I think I wanted about  240 to make a quilt about 120 inches square with no borders.  My 4 patch blocks would make a 12 inch block and I need  100 blocks set 10 rows by 10 ….oh yeah, now I remember, after recalculating I need 400 blocks!

I cannot even think about how many I would need at the 4.5 inch size…..or  (gasp) the 3 inch size!

So back into the bag….I’ll get back to it again, someday.

Bag of Spools

Check out some really great looking spool projects here!

Posted in 2.5" Scraps, Challenges
3 comments on “My Spools Project
  1. Such a great start!

  2. Sad to see your project stalled, but hope you’ll get back to it soon. Maybe you could add in a few of the tiny blocks to add some variety to your final project and possibly give yourself a kick-start again? 🙂

  3. Andee in AZ says:

    They are too cute and I am sure they will get into a quilt soon!

Comments are closed.

Recent Posts
Archives
July 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031