The (not so) Easy Street

The latest Bonnie Hunter Mystery “Easy Street” is finished! For those of you unfamiliar with Bonnie Hunter mysteries, check out her website Quiltville.  Lots of stuff to look at.  The quilt started on Thanksgiving week-end with just 4 patches…lots of them.  My fist plan was to make just a throw but the 4 patches went together so well I had enough for the large size.  I kept up fairly well until right before Christmas…then I scrambled just to make a few of each step so as not to lose momentum.  On New Year’s the reveal of getting it all together was posted and I really wanted to get mine together.  That is when I discovered that my choice on those very first blocks, the 4 patches, was not so good.  My alternate, a very light green, was not enough contrast once the whole blocks came together.IMG_0413

The pale green barely shows up!

Here’s one block.   All of the blocks were very time-consuming, many pieces, many points.  I am so pleased with most of piecing, so

I decided to add a pieced border and used Judy’s “60 Pieced Borders” book to find one I liked.

IMG_0410

This one worked well with my leftovers.  And with Judy’s clear instructions it went together well…best of all …it fit!

I dug out a kit I was no longer interested in making and used a lot of that for my scrapped together backing.

IMG_0412 (1)

It is quilted with an all over design, Wisteria, I think, and it took forever to get the binding done.

So, there it is, 105″ X 105″  all finished.

IMG_0408 (1)

 

Posted in Easy Street, UFO's
7 comments on “The (not so) Easy Street
  1. Helen Koenig1 says:

    It is absolutely lovely! Mine is still WAAAAY back – clue 2 I think it was! Once I get my machine fixed I am going to have a VERY hard time not finishing mine (I need to get some other “quicker” UFOs done first – unless I enjoy being ‘Queen’ of the UFOs!)

  2. Judy Kroeger says:

    Your Easy Street is very nice. Mine is pieced and bordered. What is left for me is the hardest to do (for me)-GET IT QUILTED! Great job!

  3. SC Nonni says:

    Beautiful…..Love this! ❤

  4. Chris P says:

    Happy for you that your Not Sew EZ Street is finished. I am plugging along on mine. Finally to the border stage. Your’s is lovely and the border is striking.

  5. Very nicely done. So glad to see another color and a variation on the border!

  6. Vic in NH says:

    Wow! What a huge and beautiful quilt! Your extra-effort borders make it a prize winner.

    • Andree mantha says:

      Beautiful…I decided to wait until all the clues were in and finished the whole quilt machine quilted included on feb 1….. But it is beautiful ! ! ! ! And sew is yours.

Comments are closed.

Recent Posts
Archives
June 2013
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30