Design Wall Monday

Still working on Jacobs Ladder.  The rows are going together and it measures 96 inches .  I am thinking borders will bring it out to about 108-110 inches square…a nice sized quilt. too big for the wall

This one has been fun to put together  I’ve had to make more blocks a couple of times while deciding just how many rows I wanted.  It ended up 8 rows across and 8 down.  Since this was a Cutting Bee (from Fons and Porter’s book by the same name) quilt I was working from my 2 1/2 inch strips and 4 1/2 inch strips. cutting bee boxes

 

You would think for as large as the quilt is the bins would be near empty.  Although the 4 1/2 inch bin is looking a little thinner by the time I clear off the cutting table tomorrow it will barely be noticeable!  Not much though since I almost always cut just a couple of new pieces to add into the mix, especially backgrounds.

leftoversSo now I just need to get this together row by row, and since it is so large it is taking a lot of time!  seaming rows

Go check out Judy’s Patchwork Times for more design wall posts while I wrestle this behemoth…..

Posted in 2.5" Scraps, Cutting Bee projects, design wall, Quilts
4 comments on “Design Wall Monday
  1. Rhonda says:

    I love your Jacob’s Ladder quilt. The scrappy quilts are the best looking in my view. I’m just getting to visit the DWM posts.

  2. Deb says:

    I love Jacob’s Ladder and yours is just gorgeous!

  3. antarabesque says:

    Jacob’s Ladder is such a versitile and attractive block. One of my favourites, thanks for sharing!

  4. Nann says:

    The multi-colored squares adn triangles sparkle against the neutrals.

    I chuckled to read that 108″ is “nice-sized.” My Easy Street turned out to be 100 x 100 and it overflows my queen-sized bed. (It will eventually be raffled, and I hope that the size isn’t off-putting to potential ticket-buyers.)

Comments are closed.

Recent Posts
Archives
February 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728