Design Wall Monday

I spent most of this cold week-end in the studio working on a “cutting bee” project from 2010.  This is a Jacobs Ladder that goes together rather quickly.  Jacobs Ladder--cutting bee

I am using pre cuts from my 2 .5  inch and 4 .5  inch bins so most of the cutting was already done!  The blocks are 12 inches finished so 56 blocks is a pretty generous sized quilt.  I will make blocks until the wall is filled, then one more row.  I like one plain and one pieced border on this one.

Since my Symphony is in the shop for its’ yearly check up…missed it last year I have the Featherweight set up.

 

1946 Featherweight

This little machine usually travels in the RV.  It is a great little piecer, smooth even stitches and does really well going over seam intersections.  I enjoy stitching on it, but miss needle up/down…and the knee lift!  See the block?  It is right there because I put several together wrong and had to rip and flip.  Those little four patches have to go the right way or the pattern is lost.

If  it warms up I want to load one of those Project Linus  tops on Annabelle, but the sunroom is barely 60 degrees…brrrrrr….I need some sun!  If it gets above freezing I’ll flip the heat up, otherwise I’m going to stay in the studio and make more of these blocks. 

Meanwhile….check out more design walls at Judy’s blog.

Posted in 2.5" Scraps, Cutting Bee projects
3 comments on “Design Wall Monday
  1. Kathy says:

    There’s just something so lovely about a scrappy traditional quilt. Looking good!

  2. Dar in MO says:

    I love that block and your colors are so cheerful. It is one of my favorite patterns for using scraps up. I also like my little FWs for piecing. It plays well at retreats with the big girls too!

  3. Nann says:

    Your Jacob’s Ladder is a scrappy delight!

Comments are closed.

Recent Posts
Archives
February 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728