Sorting out those Brights

Many tripsThis is a fun block.  It is from Bonnie Hunter’s Quiltville and it is pretty addicting. I made one of these a few years back and put everything into it….Bonnie says anything goes…but I really didn’t like the brights mixed in with the Kansas Troubles.  I have sorted all of my bright strips out of that big 2.5inch bin…the brights have a new home.

The strips for the 12 inch block are 16 inches, so 1 strip would be 2 blocks and about 12 inches left over.  I sliced those leftovers into 2.5 inch squares.  I have a bin for those, too.  And I picked all the bright squares out of the other plastic tub.  I believe in segregation when it comes to my fun fabric. 

This is going to make it much easier to get those Project Linus quilts going and since I have pledged at least 20 quilts to Project Linus this year I need to make it simple…..and easy.  There are several Jelly Roll books on my shelf and the next great idea will be from one of them!

bin of 2.5 stripsSo far I have not noticed even the slightest dent in the box or bin…..of course I had to add a color or two….and it is just a little messier now that I’ve rifled through it a few times….so,  I am off to play in color!!

Posted in 2.5" Scraps, Project Linus
One comment on “Sorting out those Brights
  1. Michelle says:

    Looks like you’re having all kinds of fun! I agree with you about mixing Kansas Troubles with brights — if you’re going to do that, you’ve got to have about a zillion other things in there too, to make the contrast less glaring.

Comments are closed.

Recent Posts
Archives
January 2013
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031