Stash Report –Week 52

So, this is it.  The final reckoning.  This has been a great exercise… once I actually saw the numbers and how much I was buying it became easier to scale things back. 

 I ordered a bundle of  fat quarters (on sale) and four 1 yard cuts of black on white (Easy Street, I am completely out) but unless they come on Monday (not likely) this will be the first for 2013.  Since I haven’t gotten them I’ m not counting them yet!

My final finish for this year is the tree skirt from Missouri Quilt Co.  Made from 2 charm packs (1.25yds)  and 1.5 yards for borders and binding as well as 2 3/4 yards for the backing… I’m thinking 5.5 yards in this project.   This picture was taken with my Ipod touch, then transferred using i-cloud…it really isn’t a very good picture.

Here are my totals for 2012:tree skirt

Acquired since last report…..0

Acquired YTD……189.25 yds

Used since last report……  5.5  yards

Used YTD………219  5/8 yards 

Net for 2012…….30  3/8 yards….Woo  whoooo I used more than I added!

I love how several times I was reminded that it is OK to” freshen” the stash.  And I know that when the LQS has their big sale, or when I’m at a big quilt show I will buy….just to keep things current!  I’m really happy to have used more than I acquired. 

I’m doing this again in 2013.

Posted in Challenges, Easy Street, Quilts, Stash report
5 comments on “Stash Report –Week 52
  1. Stash reports are a great tool. I think before I buy–I tell myself I’m just a much more “informed consumer”. Congratulations on your great numbers!

  2. Suzanne says:

    You did a great job for 2012!

  3. Dee Dee says:

    I like your wording “final reckoning”! I also enjoyed keeping track of what came in and went out. Hope 2013 is even a better stash reduction year for you.

  4. rose barnes says:

    I’m considering doing the stash report too next year- but I don’t have a blog. Perhaps just keep a tally? I’m doing easy street as well. The whole blog following is new to me but I’m enjoying it. I used to live in Iowa – what town do you live in?

  5. Dar in MO says:

    Congrats on using more than you bought. Me too. I’m with you and joining again next year. I hope to do even more busting in 2013. See you in the blogworld.

Comments are closed.

Recent Posts
Archives
December 2012
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031