It’s a really good quilting day…

The weather has finally cooled, and we are getting some…just a little …much-needed rain. 

During the quiltathon this past week-end I managed to get 2 tops quilted, one I machine bound, the other I took along yesterday to hand bind in the truck.  It is half-finished.  Neither are UFO’s, these are both new starts….although getting them finished before they end up on a UFO list is a good thing.

Pictured is Judy L’s Rolling Along from January, 2012.  I kept up on all of the steps, I just didn’t get it quilted until the Quiltathon last week.  I finished the binding by machine only because it was dark blue, and my eyes don’t like really dark fabric for hand work.  The eye appointment is scheduled for later this month.

This is a closer look at one of the blocks.  You can see the quilting  pattern and check out those star points!  I was having a good quilting day that day, too!

Last week I started a One Block Wonder…on a whim, it has been on my “let’s try it someday” list, and last Monday, the 6th, I retreated to my sewing cave and commenced.  I found a big enough chunk of multiple color that I had no other plan for…I followed all hints and instructions and cut out my triangles.  I sewed and placed them on the design wall….herein lies the problem…my Lady of the Lake is on the wall, too far along to take down.  Besides, my rule is: once it is up on the design wall it only comes down finished!
So, I have two layers on the wall.  Very different layers, somewhat jarring to the eye.

  My poor Lady of the Lake is peeking out, still waiting her turn in the spotlight!  The one block wonder (OBW) is very addicting.  I stayed up way late 2 nights making block after block just to see where they would end up in the grand scheme.   But, I have now made all of the blocks I can get out of my chunk of  strange gold/oriental/busy and just weird where did this come from(?)  fabric from my stash.  The repeat was about 13 inches so it will be a wall hanging.

I must get this together…..there is no way to take it down for storage…way too much work to get it back up….so I must get this together now!

I have one more almost finished…the Bento Box…yes,  I’ve had a really good quilting week and it’s only Thursday!

Tagged with:
Posted in design wall, Judy's QOV, one block wonder, Quilts, Rolling Along
Recent Posts
Archives
August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031