State of My Stash

Today is my birthday.   So today I will address the state of my stash.  I often feel the need to apologize because I have an extensive stash, and I am still “refreshing” it.   My wonderful stash is like a bank….or savings account, I have been storing it up for years and a few pieces go back to the days I managed House of Fabrics.  DH still thinks I was paid in fabric since so much of my check stayed at the store.  In those five years from 1979 to 1983 I acquired a lot of fabric.   Since I made most of my clothes the fabric was all types, not just quilting  cotton.   Thankfully I only have a very few pieces that are from that period….most are in a bin I used for applique.

I flat-out refuse to calculate how much I have.  This year I have been keeping track on Judy L’s Sunday Stash report.  I was doing pretty well untill we visited Paducah earlier this month….this Sunday I will have to report some (33 1/2 yards) in but, I also will have 3 finishes to subtract.   It will almost be a wash…..

The picture shows most of the brights and novelty kid prints on the shelf while the bins on the lower shelf are collections….more for grown up quilts.  There are large bins on the floor that contain P J flannel, and I have a whole big bin of fleece .  Baby knits and patterns,too.

The picture on the right shows the stack of neutrals, my blenders and all of the browns I’ve stocked up on….

The bins hold 2.5 and 4.5 strips as well as fat quarters and other special cuts.   I have a good stack of flannel pastels that was out of camera range.  Those are used for Kaye Woods 6 hour quilts…..I make a lot of kid quilts from the flannel.

On the floor in larger bins I keep the older stuff,   big pieces that could be worked into backs, or borders.  Some I look at and wonder what was I thinking, and other pieces I remember just what I had in mind….could it really have been that long ago?

I am happy with my stash.  Now that prices have gone up I am a little more conservative.  It really is fabric bank….I have banked it for years and now I can withdraw what ever I need to make my current projects. In the past 12 months I have completed 17 quilts, and started 8 more.  I have organized my sewing studio and I can find most everything in just a few minutes.  My stash is manageable….but I’m not going to count it!

Here’s the rest of my sewing space…… 

Posted in Quilts, Stash report
3 comments on “State of My Stash
  1. Vickie in Cleveland says:

    Belated Happy Birthday wishes! Your sewing studio is lovely. Your sewing stash looks very neat and organized, too. There’s no need to ever apologize about your stash, IMHO. You were wise to “invest” when you could! I know, because I’ve done the same. I’ll have lots of fabric to play with when I “retire”!

  2. Looks like you have a wonderful sewing space and stash. As long as you continue to enjoy using it there is no need to apologise. Happy belated birthday 🙂
    Helen in the UK
    fellow Stashbuster

  3. Colleen says:

    Happy Birthday and your sewing room is so nice and neat!

Comments are closed.

Recent Posts
Archives
July 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031