#12 on my UFO list…..strings @10 “

I’m not sure why I picked this name,  the strings are put together in a sets that measure 21 inches by 11 inches to begin  so that they are cut into 10 inch blocks.  But, when all of the sewing and slicing and sewing then trimming is finished, the block measures 12 .5 inches to finish at 12 inches.  This block is great to use up longer strings.  Too bad I have a lot of strings that are less than 21 inches.   I first saw this block on Stash Manicure last year.  I made a couple and decided I’d like to use up my strips.   Since Judy at Patchwork Times has picked #12 as this months UFO to finish I thought I’d share my work process. 

My first picture shows  the original strip set, measuring 21 inches by 11 inches, or there about.  Second picture shows block divided and trimmed into 2 — 10 inch square blocks.  The next pictures shows the blocks stitched together.  What you don’t see is that the block is rotated, so the strips are horizontal on bottom, and vertical on the top.  I stitched around the entire block with a quarter-inch seam allowance.  A quick press and then the block is cut corner to corner …a big X.

These pictures show the four blocks laid out in three different configurations.  I like all three, but the one on the right is my final choice.  I don’t trim the block sections. 

Once the block was sewn and given a good press I trimmed them nice and square with my 12.5 ruler, removing about a half-inch all around.

Today I am working on the sashing and corner posts.

The blocks are a hodge podge of scraps that are interesting looking all together.  I think adding sashing and corner posts gives each block its own space. 

This will end up with 20 blocks, set into five rows…I need 4 more blocks, so back into the string box ……

Think I can get the lid back on the bin?

Tagged with:
Posted in Challenges, design wall, Quilts, Strings
2 comments on “#12 on my UFO list…..strings @10 “
  1. Dawn says:

    love this idea! I have many strings that I think will work………..hmmmm

  2. Leslie says:

    Hi! I just found your blog via the Patchwork Times stash report!
    I love your blog and your committment to use up your stash!
    May I make a suggestion? I’m really good with colour.
    When I looked at your blocks and sashing, the sashing beige/taupe jumped out at me and the blocks receded.
    If you haven’t stitched them, may I suggest a different colour, maybe a whitish cream? maybe a whitish cream print?
    Otherwise, using up your stash to make a quilt that makes YOU happy is always wonderful!
    Take care, Leslie

Comments are closed.

Recent Posts
Archives
June 2012
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930