DesignWall Monday, May 28,2012

Today is Memorial Day, and the last day of our stay at home retreat.  I’ve been doing pretty well getting this little quilt together.  Just adding some pieced blocks to the borders and it will be ready to quilt.

The chunk of  fabric on the left is the actual border, with some flying geese blocks to break it up a bit….that bolder print just didn’t make the cut!

This little quilt came about when first, I found I had too much time to brood over the lost vacation, and second, someone on Stashbusters  was looking for a spool pattern and several links were provided.  

I used up left-over 2.5 inch strips from several projects, and cut just a couple more.  The background is just Kona “Snow”….the end of the bolt.  I even got to use one of those special rulers I bought at one time for something really cool, I am sure!

Fast and fun!

  Today were getting some much-needed rain, so I am hoping to load a top on the long arm (aka Annabell) and plug in a book via the  Ipod and get one from the stack quilted.

Check out other design wall projects at http://www.patchworktimes.com/ 

don’t know why that got so big……

Tagged with:
Posted in design wall, Quilts
10 comments on “DesignWall Monday, May 28,2012
  1. Vicki h. says:

    I like it and the bold colors are perfect for a rainy day. I have a stack to be loaded on the long arm myself. I just got one finished and realized I need backing and batting! Off to the store.

  2. I’m sad for you about the vacation that wasn’t; this quilt is sooo much fun. I’ve been thinking about making one of these, and yours inspires me.

  3. Kate says:

    Beautiful quilt. Love all the bright colors.

  4. AnnieO says:

    Love the curves that appear when the quilt is viewed from a distance. Wonderful colors!

  5. Connie says:

    Looks beautiful! We got a couple sprinkles here but need more!

  6. Very pretty quilt!

  7. Susan says:

    What a happy quilt………

  8. Gari says:

    Oh, I really like your spool quilt. So cheery with all those different fabrics. That reminds me, I have never done a spool quilt…..hummmmmm.

  9. Libby says:

    It’s a charming quilt and I believe I will give that pattern a try just based on how happy your quilt looks! TFS

  10. Jo says:

    Your quilt looks wonderful!!

Comments are closed.

Recent Posts
Archives
May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031