Design Wall Monday April 30th, 2012

It’s been a busy week but I managed to get all of  my 9 patch blocks finished for this baby quilt. 

The border fabric was originally going to be trains….I picked each of my 9 patch fabric to go with that train fabric but now I’m just not too sure.

I am planning on a yellow inner border.

I ran into problems with the alternate blocks.  I have a large stash but I needed almost 2.5 yards for the blocks and setting triangles.   I pulled my larger pieces and this one worked the best, but I think it just won’t go with the original border fabric.  Funny how these things evolve.  I pulled the train fabric first and picked the 9 patch fabric, then the pale pale blue marbles (looks white in the picture but it is a really pale blue) for the nine patch blocks . 

The baby isn’t due for a while……I’m going to let it percolate for a bit.

Posted in Uncategorized
4 comments on “Design Wall Monday April 30th, 2012
  1. Dar in MO says:

    What you have so far looks very good. I’d like to see a preview of the train fabric before you scrap it. Maybe with the yellow inner border it will still work.?

  2. Vicki H. says:

    Looks great and I am always doing the same with fabric choices. I think that’s half the fun! love what you have done so far and the baby is sure lucky to get such a great quilt!

  3. Soscrappy says:

    The evolution is all part of the fun. I am sure if you give it a little time, the quilt will tell you how it wants to come together.

  4. marcella says:

    I love seeing quilts evolve like that. It’s always fun to be surprised at how they turn out compared to what I thought in the beginning. Your nine patch blocks look really nice. It’s going to be a great baby quilt.

Comments are closed.

Recent Posts
Archives
April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930