Half Hex Braided Row Quilt

This little throw quilt has too many names.  And they’re all descriptive names mostly on how it is made.  It is a scrap, a column, a braid, a 60 degree and a half hexagon.   I can say it was fun to put together.  It started last summer with Fons & Porters “Love of Quilting”…..the technique was interesting and I had a lot of leftover 2 1/2 inch strips.  Using the 60 degree triangle it  was easy cutting.  The Hexagon template could be used, then cut in half….the result is the same.  I used the triangle since that’s what I already owned.

Once the braid is together there is NO trimming…..no waste. I added strips between the braided rows and the frame and then a border. Since I was using what I wanted to use up and get out of the stash,  it needed cornerstones, too.   This will go to the Humility Shelter.

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Half Hex Braided Row Quilt
  1. Joanne says:

    Very pretty. I like the idea odf a braid with no trimming and waste. I’ll have to tuck this idea away. Thanks for sharing, and welcome to blogland.

Comments are closed.

Recent Posts
Archives
February 2012
S M T W T F S
    Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829